Posted by: Mike and Julie | June 29, 2011

The Last Vacation Blog

We didn’t take too many pictures on the last day of our vacation because it was raining most of the day. The weather forecast was for an 80-90% chance of rain – not fun for trying to be outside at Pow Wow festivities. But, we had a few ride tickets left so we went back to the park in the afternoon. Jonah was insistent on going on the roller coaster. The park was very soggy and it rained off and on while we were there but it was fun anyways!

Here are the few pictures we took.

Jonah LOVED the rollercoaster!

I just love this picture! It looks like Mike is having a great time on the kiddie dragon roller coaster all by himself. I think he had fun too - the cart was just a little too small for him. 🙂

Jonah and I went on the Dizzy Dragons. It was kind of like the spinning tea cup ride at Disney World. I don't even know the last time I heard Jonah giggling and shrieking like he was on this ride. He kept yelling, "I'm having fun, Mommy!" He would giggle more each time I made our dragon spin faster. Since he had never been on a spinny ride before, I wasn't sure how much I should push it...but he loved it and didn't seem to be sick from it at all. Mike will definietly say that Jonah got his love of rides from me!

Our week of vacation in Minnesota went waaay to fast! We loved the chance to get away, to see family and friends, and to just enjoy our time together. I thank the Lord each day for our family. He has blessed us far beyond what we deserve! With the little free time that we had while we were at my parents’ house, we played a few games of 500 and I looked through some boxes that were filled with my things. For some strange reason, my mom thinks that 6 years after I got married and moved away from home I should either take or get rid of my things at their house! 🙂 I was finally able to part with some clothes that I know I will never be able to fit into again. And, a lot of other things that seemed important at one time are no longer important. Funny how that works, huh?!

Another blessing of being home in Mountain Lake was seeing a some friends that I hadn’t seen in a few years. Lives can change so quickly, especially when we are in the stage of life that we are. Friends have gotten married, are now growing families, and are settling down in life past college. The Lord has truly blessed me with friendships throughout my life. I was so encouraged to hear friends tell of the ways the Lord is leading their hearts and their lives. We have so many friends, even from before our seminary days, who are serving God through vocational ministry – missions, pastoral ministry, campus ministry.  And, because of the body of Christ we are all partners in the Gospel even though we are spread across the country and even the world. I am thankful for the opportunity to have visited, even if it was for such a brief time, with some of these friends and to hear the work that is being done for the glory of God throughout all of His creation!

Leave a Reply

Categories

